Canadian Midwifery Regulators Council

The CMRC is a network of provincial and territorial regulatory authorities. Collectively, the CMRC regulates the profession of midwifery, setting and maintaining high standards of practice, and ensuring regulatory harmony across the country.

The CMRC maintains a strong regulatory framework through their work in setting the Canadian Midwifery Competencies, establishing national standards for midwifery practice, administering the national Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination, and approving educational and bridging programs.

Complete information on registering as a midwife in Canada

Colleges of Midwives

In regulated Canadian provinces and territories, the Colleges of midwives are the regulatory bodies for the profession of midwifery. The goal of a College is to register qualified, competent midwives to provide safe, high quality care to individuals and their families.

The provincial/territorial Colleges have the following duties:

  • to set the standards of education and qualifications for registration
  • to examine candidates for registration, assess competency and register qualified candidates
  • to set the standards of practice, monitor and enforce them
  • to monitor the continuing competency of registrants
  • to set standards of professional ethics, monitor and enforce them


Please visit the College website of your region for standards and guidelines of midwifery practice in your province or territory.

College of Midwives of Alberta

College of Midwives of British Columbia

College of Midwives of Manitoba

Midwifery Regulatory Council of Nova Scotia

College of Midwives of Ontario

Ordre des sages-femmes du Québec

Saskatchewan College of Midwives

Northwest Territories Health Professional Licensing (Midwifery)

Government of Nunavut, Professional Practice – Health and Social Services

Midwifery Council of New Brunswick