

Canadian Association of Midwives Association Canadienne des sages-femmes

Annual General Meeting – DRAFT Minutes

Wednesday, November 4, 2020 Virtual Event

Present: 84 members (see attached attendance list)

1. Welcome

Annual General Meeting (AGM) of members is called to order by Chair Nathalie Pambrun, CAM/ACSF President and Tonia Occhionero, Executive Director CAM/ACSF at 1:00 pm EST.

2. Attendance and Verification of Quorum

71 full members are present at the meeting of members representing at least two thirds of the member associations. *Quorum reached.*

3. Adoption of the 2020 AGM Agenda

2020-1-AGM: MOTION to adopt the 2020 AGM agenda by **Alix Bacon**, seconded by **Sara Wolfe.** MOTION passed.

YES = 69 (97%), NO = 0, Abstentions = 0

4. Adoption of 2019 AGM Minutes

2020-2-AGM: MOTION to adopt the 2019 AGM minutes as amended by **Josyane Giroux**, seconded by **Joanna Norman.** MOTION passed.

YES=ALL (71), NO=0, Abstentions = 0

Amendments to the 2019 AGM Minutes:

- 1. Item 5.1 Correct the spelling of Josyane Giroux's name.
- 2. Item 7. In Memoriam Minute of Silence: Include the names of the midwives presented in 2019:
 - Eileen Ann Mackenzie
 - Basak Ardalani
 - Helen Bone
 - Elsie Cressman
 - Kathryn McBride
 - Rosemary McVey
 - Sharon McParland Stephenson
 - Maureen Laryea
 - Ferne Pike

CAM/ACSF Draft Minutes – Annual General Meeting November 4, 2020



- Ruth Sampson (Tree)
- Tracey Novoselnik

5. Presentation of the 2019-2020 Annual Report

5.1. Report from Member Associations (CAM/ACSF Board of Directors) (*Refer to Annual Report 2019-2020*) Presentation of 2019/20 CAM/ACSF Board members:

Executive Board Members

President: Nathalie Pambrun President Elect: Alix Bacon Vice President: Elizabeth Brandeis Treasurer: Sara Wolfe Outgoing Secretary: Jane Erdman Incoming Secretary: Trish Langley Frempong

Board of Directors representing Member Associations

- 1. Co-Chairs of the National Aboriginal Council of Midwives: Carol Couchie & Claire Dion-Fletcher
- 2. President of the Alberta Association of Midwives, de l'Alberta, de l'Alberta: Chelsea Miklos
- 3. Vice-President of the Midwives Association of British Colombia, de la Colombie-Britannique: Alyson Jones
- 4. Présidente de l'Association des sages-femmes du Manitoba, from Manitoba: Sarah Davis.
- 5. Présidente de l'Association des sages-femmes du Nouveau-Brunswick, from New-Brunswick: Melissa Langlais
- 6. President of the Association of Newfoundland & Labrador Midwives, du Terre-Neuve & Labrador: Brianne Thompson
- 7. President of the Midwives Association of the Northwest Territories, du Territoire du Nord-Ouest: Heather Heinrichs
- 8. President of the Association of Midwives of Nova-Scotia, de la Nouvelle-Écosse: CJ Blennerhassett
- 9. President of the Association of Ontario Midwives, de l'Ontario: Jasmine Tecson
- 10. Présidente du Regroupement les sages-femmes du Québec, from Québec : Josyane Giroux
- 11. President of the Midwives Association of Saskatchewan, de la Saskatchewan: Jessica Bailey
- 12. President of the Community Midwives Association of the Yukon, du Yukon: Kathleen Cranfield.
- 13. President of the Prince Edward Island Midwives Association, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard: Joyce England
- 14. Student representative, représentante des étudiantes: Katrina Thiessen

There are currently no representatives for Nunavut on the CAM Board.

CAM/ACSF Draft Minutes – Annual General Meeting November 4, 2020



5.2. CAM/ACSF Strategic Directions Report

CAM/ACSF report is presented by CAM President Nathalie Pambrun and CAM Executive Director Tonia Occhionero (*Refer to the Annual Report 2019-2020 and the Global Report 2020*)

Recognition of Eby Heller's 10-years of service and their contribution to CAM.

5.3. Report from the National Aboriginal Council of Midwives

NACM report is presented by co-Chair Claire Dion Fletcher (*Refer to NACM report in Annual Report 2019-2020*)

6. Treasurer Report & 2019 Financial Statements

Treasurer report presented by CAM Treasurer Sara Wolfe Review of Financial Statements 2019 (Refer to CAM/ACSF Financial Statements 2019).

7. Appointment of Auditor

As per Corporations Canada's Not-for-Profit Act, the Auditor must be appointed by the membership. The CAM Board of Directors would like to recommend to the membership that Patricia McGovern, Chartered Accountant be appointed for 2020.

2020-3-AGM: MOTION

Be it Resolved that Patricia McGovern, Chartered Accountant, is appointed auditor of the Canadian Association of Midwives to hold office until the next annual general meeting of shareholders at such remuneration as may be fixed by the directors.

Moved by Sara Wolfe, seconded by Alix Bacon. MOTION passed.

YES=67 (95%), NO = 0, Abstentions = 0

8. In Memoriam

A memoriam slide show was presented, and a moment of silence observed to recognize the following colleagues that have passed:

- Marie-Paule Lanthier
- Line Ferland-Alain
- Carol Hird
- Amy Joy Giesbrecht
- Joan Keenan
- Dr. Sebalda Leshabari

9. Leadership Tribute

Recognition and appreciation of the following Past Presidents of CAM:

- Anne Wilson
- Kim Campbell
- Gisela Becker
- Kerstin Martin

CAM/ACSF Draft Minutes – Annual General Meeting November 4, 2020



- Emmanuelle Hébert
- Joanna Marie Norman
- Carol Cameron
- Katrina Kilroy
- Kelly Klick

Jane Erdman CAM Executive Member 2009-2020 was recognized for her work, both as a Treasurer and Secretary.

Nathalie Pambrun CAM President 2018-2020 was recognized for their work. Presentation of a print by Métis artist Christi Belcourt "Spider Woman Weaving" in honour of Nathalie's years of service to the CAM Board of Directors.

10. Announcement of 2021 AGM

The CAM Board did not sign a contract for a venue for the 2021 AGM and Conference due to Covid-19. Updates will be shared with the membership regarding the 2021 Annual General Meeting.

11. Adjournment

2020-4-AGM MOTION to adjourn the 2020 CAM/ACSF Annual General Meeting by **Alix Bacon**, seconded by **Nathalie Pambrun**. MOTION passed.

YES=ALL, NO = 0, Abstentions = 0